What's New in the User Interface for Release 2?

Changes are listed by release number below.

Release 2.5

Changes to user interface

The user interface for dedicated Aerus systems remains the same. The following changes were made to the user interface for Windows.

  • There’s a new Aerus Collaborate icon on your desktop.
  • We’ve moved the preview thumbnails of session participants from the bottom to the left side and integrated shared collaboration material thumbnails. It’s now easier and more intuitive to see the available views and choose the view you want.
  • When you’re in a session, you can click a toolbar button. The session view moves to the left and becomes smaller so you can view both the session and the toolbar controls at the same time.
  • There are new participant window controls to mute video or audio or disconnect.
  • There’s a new toolbar at the top of the thumbnails that lets you disconnect from the session, stop sharing collaboration material, allow remote control of collaboration material by other participants, switch to sharing another resource, and add another participant to the session.
  • Collaboration thumbnails have a green border when collaboration material is displayed correctly and a yellow border when not displayed correctly (for example, when other material on your PC is covering the collaboration material).
  • If you are viewing collaboration material full-screen and return to Aerus Collaborate (for example, to view someone who is asking a question), you can return to the collaboration material by clicking the docking button on the thumbnail.
  • The toolbar is always displayed on the right-hand side of the screen. You can no longer choose to move it to the left-hand side or hide it.
  • There is no longer an Admin Portal, formerly selected by right-clicking the Aerus Collaborate icon in the system tray. These functions are now done in Aerus Community.
  • You can now make a URL call from the contacts pane.

Changes to client settings

  • We’ve added a close button to settings screens.
  • The Settings button has been changed to Preferences.
  • There’s a new Logout button on the Preferences page. Use it to log out of Aerus Community. This resets your Aerus Community credentials so you must re-enter them the next time you open Aerus.
  • For adding and editing/deleting contacts, we’ve change the order of fields to make it easier to use.
  • Layout mode does not apply to Windows systems.
  • For Log Incident, the Now and End of Call buttons have been replaced with one Capture report button.

Release 2.4

There are no changes to the user interface for Release 2.4. The user interface for client settings has these changes:

  • When you edit contacts, a new cloud/pencil button indicates contacts that were added via Community. They are view only.  You can edit contacts with pencil-only button since they were added manually at the client. 
  • There is a new audio setting for software echo cancellation.

For more information, see the Aerus Client Administrator Guide.

Release 2.3

Documentation

The quick start guides remain the same for Release 2.3. However, we have returned to two user guides in Release 2.3 to make it easier for you to find the information you need. There is now a basic user guide and a user guide for client administrators that contains information on more advanced features and settings.

Changes to the User Interface

  • The resources button has been removed from the default idle/home page.
  • For Windows, the toolbar now contains a full screen button.

Changes to Client Settings

The user interface for client settings has been improved. Instead of a toolbar on the side, there are now tabs at the top. Some settings have moved to a different settings page:

  • Open a system terminal session for dedicated Aerus systems has moved from the Settings page to the System Control page.
  • Check for software update controls have been added to the System Controls for Aerus Windows systems.
  • Audio settings for Windows systems have been streamlined.
  • Some client settings are done in Community now. Depending on the settings there, your default settings may differ but you can change the settings at the client.

Release 2.2

The biggest change in Aerus Release 2.2 is the addition of Personal Aerus Collaborate Client for Microsoft(R) Windows(R). The user interface is similar to the user interface for Dedicated (Linux) Clients but opens in a window labeled Aerus Collaborate.

We also made changes to the user interface for Dedicated Clients.

Documentation

To get you up and running fast on dedicated Aerus systems, we’ve introduced a new Quick start guide: Aerus Collaborate for dedicated Aerus systems. For more comprehensive user instructions, we combined the former Quick reference guides for users and Quick reference guide for administrators into one guide, User guide: Aerus Collaborate for dedicated Aerus systems.

There’s also a new Quick start guide: Aerus Collaborate for Personal Desktop Microsoft(R) Windows(R), which includes installation instructions. And an accompanying User guide: Aerus Collaborate Personal Desktop for Microsoft(R) Windows(R).

Changes to the User Interface

  • The default home page buttons have been improved for easier access. Your buttons may be different if it Aerus has been customized for your enterprise.
  • Some buttons on the toolbar have also been improved for the same reason.
  • Avatars are now available for groups.
  • In the Contacts pane, we added a Clear button to the groups pane so you can easily return to your full list of groups. Also, you can clear all missed calls using one easy button.
  • The first time, you may be asked for your Community credentials. Community keeps your contacts and other information up-to-date. Contact your technical system administrator for your credentials.

Changes to Settings

  • Some settings have been deprecated or moved to Community. Consult your technical system administrator.
  • Audio settings now allow you to choose your preferred audio device and ringing audio device.

Differences in the Windows User Interface

  • For Windows, you can share collaboration material that is open on your computer. For example, you may want to share a spreadsheet or a browser page.
  • When you share collaboration material, the session view is minimized in the top right-hand corner, with controls for stopping sharing and show other controls like the toolbar. When the session view is expanded, there is a button that lets you quickly minimize it again.
  • You may have a second (auxiliary) camera in addition to the integrated camera in a laptop. For example, in your office, you may have a larger display monitor with a webcam connected to your laptop.
  • There is no integrated browser since any browser can be opened and shared from your Windows computer. Likewise, no resources can be added, deleted, or edited since only the items that are open on your computer are available for sharing.
  • General settings include enable auto update and check for updates manually.
  • Audio settings for speakers and microphones are separate.
  • The only system action setting is System Never Sleep.
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.